SCAN event at United Nations University

Dr Farrall and UNU Rector David M. Malone 23 October 2018

On 23 October 2018, UNU will host “Power and Influence on the UN Security Council: The Role of Elected Members” a conversation with Dr Jeremy Farrall, Associate Dean (Research) at the ANU College of Law and Associate Professor in the ANU Law School at the Australian National University. This event will start at 6:30 p.m. at UNU Headquarters in Tokyo.

The United Nations Security Council comprises 15 members. It is dominated by its five permanent members (P5): the People’s Republic of China, the French Republic, the Russian Federation, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, and the United States of America. They not only sit on the Council permanently, but also hold the power to veto any prospective Council action. The remaining elected 10 Council members (E10), by contrast, possess neither the right to veto nor a permanent seat on the Council. They are selected by the United Nations General Assembly on the basis of geographic representation and merely hold a two-year term.

How have recent elected members, including Japan and Australia, been able to build and sustain influence on the Council, despite having neither permanence nor veto power? Are there particular issues that present an opportunity for elected members to gain and exert influence?